Matthias C. Kettemann

Peer Board Member

PD Mag. Dr. Matthias C. Kettemann, LL.M. (Harvard) ist Leiter des Forschungsprogramms für Online-Reglements am Leibniz Institut für Medienforschung/ Hans-Bredow-Institut, Hamburg. Er ist Gastprofessor für Internationales Recht an der Universität Jena und Privatdozent für Internationales Recht, Internet-Recht und Rechtstheorie an der Universität Frankfurt. Weiters ist er Vorsitzender des Projekts für Internationales Internet-Recht am Humbolt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft in Berlin, sowie Leiter einer Forschungsgruppe für „Platform and Content Governance“ an der WU Wien.

2096699_edited.png

Das Sicherstellen von Human Security, Menschenrechten und Human Development ist eng veflochten mit dem Wort „Defence“, der Verteidigung wesentlicher Werte der Internationalen Gemeinschaft gegen staatliche wie auch nicht-staatliche Bedrohungen. Dieses Journal wird jene Akteure und Faktoren beleuchten, die die Sicherheit gefährden, interdisziplinäre Bewertungen bereitstellen und Bedrohungen „am und hinter dem Horizont“ beurteilen.

 

Der griechische Ursprung des Wortes Horizont (ὁρίζω) drückt das Teilende aus. Dieses Journal unterscheidet reale von wahrgenommenen Bedrohungen für Mensch, Nation und/oder die Internationale Staatengemeinschaft durch Beiträge aus Theorie und Praxis. Es ist mir eine Freude dieses Projektes zu sein.

Matthias C. Kettemann

Peer Board Member

PD Mag. Dr. Matthias C. Kettemann, LL.M. (Harvard) is head of the research program for online rules at the Leibniz Institute for Media Research | Hans-Bredow-Institute, Hamburg. He is visiting professor in international law at the University Jena and Privatdozent in international law, internet law and legal theory at the University of Frankfurt. He also heads a project on international internet law at the Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, Berlin, and directs a research group on Platform and Content Governance at WU Vienna’s Sustainable Computing.

Ensuring human security, human rights, and human development is closely linked to defense. Deep dives into the defense of essential values of the international community against threats from within states and by states are necessary. This journal will analyze the actors and factors producing insecurities, provide interdisciplinary and intersectional comments, and investigate the threats on the horizon.

The Greek origin of Horizon (ὁρίζω) refers to dividing and separating. This Journal will divide and separate actual from perceived threats to human, national and international security with contributions from practice and academia, via case studies and long-form writing.

I'm glad to be on the Board of the Journal that will look at cutting-edge security, peace and defense theory and practice, with a view both to the normative power of the factual and the factual power of the normative. 

Gradient%20Ocean_edited.jpg
horizont defence juornal TDHJ SPECIAL ED

© Design by Birsa